Au revoirs et bonjour

This is a bittersweet post because it marks the start of the next stage of my life while simultaneously marking the end of another.  Although, by now, I should be quite used to transitions, and this just feels like one to add to the list.

A few weeks ago, I left Missoula, Montana, where I had lived since last August for a grad program, and came home to Mascoutah to unpack, re-pack, and fit in all the time with my family and food that I can’t bring with me as possible.  (I may have overdone it with the last of that list…)  To where am I headed?  Mongolia.  This should strike a chord of fear or anxiety in me, but this entire past semester has been filled with reading books, writing papers, watching documentaries, and listening/explaining to people about Mongolia.  So, my reaction is, ‘What? It’s just Mongolia.’  As if anyone could ever say Mongolia or any other foreign country is just anything.   Yet I feel a sense of comfort when I think of it.  That’s got to be good, right?

Now I have one day left at home.  One day.  How is it possible to make significant plans on a significant day?  Doesn’t everything, from the temperature of the toilet seat to the scrunch of my sister’s face as she giggles at a hilarious–or awful–joke I’ve made, take on extra meaning on days like that?  Each moment becomes dear.  Sometimes, that is.  Other times, each moment is just another moment, taking on meaning only in hindsight.  I expect a mixture of both tomorrow.

As I begin, endure, and extend this adventure of mine, I aim to write about it.  No worries, I aim to include only the best–most likely the most interesting, intriguing, and/or amusing aspects– here, after I sift out the nonsensical clutter of my mind, for all to read and to enjoy.  Some of you have been added to a list of people who will automatically receive updates every time I post.  If you would prefer not to be on that list, please let me know, and I will remove your email address with no hard feelings.  Really.  I’ll assume you hate me, and my self-esteem may lower drastically, but I’ll understand.

Those of you who have stumbled upon this blog by accident or curiosity and would like to be added to the automatic-update list, please let me know that as well.

Good night all.  I’m excited for you to join me on this odyssey.

11 thoughts on “Au revoirs et bonjour

  1. I have added myself to the automatic notification deal. I, of course, thought you hated me because I was not already included on it ;). Kidding kidding. Also, I really enjoyed the fact that the temperature of the toilet seat made it into your memerable moments because it would have made mine as well. Bon voyage and bon chance! We’ll be in touch. Xoxo

  2. OH Wonderful!!!!
    I love it – you are already ahead of the game. It will be wonderful to keep in touch with you via this blog, and other emails as needed/wanted.
    Best of everything to you!

  3. Alyse,

    You’re destined for awesome and interesting life experiences. I wish you all the best. By the way, I understand Mongolia is renowned for the warmth and comfort of its toilet seats.

    Love ya

  4. Toilet seats and Connor’s face mentioned in the same sentence. Now that’s funny! No matter how often or how much you write in this blog, it won’t be enough. I will be anxiously awaiting each new post! I love you so much, precious Alyse!

  5. I eagerly await all new posts! The prospect of your experience in Mongolia is only making me want to get out and see the world that much more, it’s very inspiring. Good luck, I’m sure it’ll be an incredible time.

  6. Alyse,

    I can’t wait to hear more. Also, to just talk to you! It’s been weird these past couple days I’m used to our multiple phone calls/ conversations. I’m sure it will be a great experience, and in touched that you mentioned ME in the first blog. Pshhhh yeah!(;

  7. Hey dear-ie, I’m excited for the chance to keep up with your travels this way. Be open for new experiences, keep putting yourself out there, and continue growing every day, as of course I know you will! Much love, thoughts and prayers!!

  8. If you haven’t already, please add me to the update list!! I am so excited to hear about your journey to Mongolia!! To see how God is using you will be such a blessing!! Love ya, girl!!!

Leave a Reply

