An Office of One’s Own

Why I like having an office (sometimes two) to myself:

Because it makes my key ring heavier than just having two keys for the same lock to my ger on it;

Because it makes me feel important when people ‘step into my office,’ even if they really meant to enter the door next to mine for the food canteen;

Because it makes, ‘Step into my office,’ sound that much more legitimate, should I ever have the opportunity to say it;

Because it has a door I can close when I want to take pictures of myself on PhotoBooth under the guise of doing work;

Sometimes I don't close the door

Because it provides the space for a sweaty-faced Mongolian opera singer to sing Italian opera to me with the volume to fill an Opera House while standing two feet from my face.

One thought on “An Office of One’s Own

Leave a Reply

