Everything I’m not saying (a poem)

I wrote this in the summer, and it’s now almost Christmas. Life has passed; life has happened. But I was looking through some of the poems I wrote this past year and figured I’d post one until I figure out what to write from my current life.

Everything I’m not saying

I post a picture with the caption, ‘A library chair, 2008,’
and while I can remember where I took it and how lovely the setting was,
that’s not where my mind is.
What I wanted to post instead was a picture of the happiness that is making me sad,
a caption describing how time is shifting under my feet and I have no control but wish things didn’t have to be the way they are.
I wanted to say, I’m not doing what I came here to do; I’m part of the problem, just walking away.
I wanted to say, I didn’t know it was going to be like this.
I wanted to say, I love her.
But I didn’t say any of that.
I didn’t say anything at all.

Leave a Reply

